Being Humble

Lately I have been thinking about the meaning of humility and how to be humble. At my job and in a lot of my life a lot of people have looked up to me for one reason or another. I have never really liked it, but it is good to have such respect in your life. However, I recently had a conversation with my boss and she said that these guests would have to learn how to be humble. We unfortunately could no longer bare their financial burden and they had to leave. I feel bad for them. The boyfriend has epilepsy and the girlfriend has M.S. I thought, they lived so long and have seen so much, but now they have to live by their wits on the streets(hopefully they never really have to though). But this instance and others similar to it have made me think why aren’t we more humble? Why can’t we lower ourselves to serve others? What does being humble really mean, And how do we practice humility?
I looked through the bible for scriptures and scoured the Quran, so that I could get a better understanding of being humble and the act of humility.

Merriam Webster’s dictionary defines the word humble as “not proud or haughty : not arrogant or assertive.”

The Catholic Encyclopedia from NewAdvent.org states that humility signifies lowliness or submissiveness.

Pride and Humility go hand in hand in The Bible. Proverbs 11:2 says “When pride comes, then comes shame; but with the humble is wisdom.” When we have pride, we have shame; but when we are humble, we are wise. James 3:13 also tells us that humility leads to wisdom: Who is wise and understanding among you? Let him show by good conduct that his works are done in the meekness of wisdom. I am often full of pride. I take pride in my work, my schooling, and in my way of life. Most people do. When people do take pride, are they taking it for themselves or for The Lord?
Proverbs also tells us, “Before destruction the heart of a man is haughty[proud], and before honor is humility.” Proverbs 18:12. Pride keeps us focused on ourselves, but being humble and having humility forces us to focus on God rather than our own strengths.

The Bible shows us that humility honors others rather than ourselves. We see this in Philippians 2:3 “Let nothing be done through selfish ambition or conceit, but in lowliness of mind let each esteem others better than himself.” I Peter 5:5-6 shows that in order to practice humility we must be submissive to others instead of just doing whatever we want to do. “Likewise you younger people, submit yourselves to your elders. Yes, all of you be submissive to one another, and be clothed with humility, for “God resists the proud, but gives grave to be humble” Therefore humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God, that he may exalt you in due time,” Verse 7 goes on to say, “Casting all your care upon Him, for he cares for you.” We are also promised wonderful things by practicing humility in Proverbs 22:4 “By humility and fear of The Lord are riches and honor and life.” We are also told that “God gives grace to the humble and opposes the proud” in I Peter 5:5 and Proverbs 3:34.

With all of these great things that we are promised from being humble and actually practicing humility we are given a warning from God. He can tell the difference between false humility and what is true in ones heart. Those who are truly humble focus on God and not on themselves, and not trying to impress people with self-imposed rules trying to convince people that you are humble. We can see this in Colossians 2:16-23.

The Quran also praises being humble. In Al-Hajj: 34 we see “Give good news to the humble-hearted.”

An even better passage from the Quran really puts humility and being lowly to God into a better understanding. Surat al-Ma’ida: 54: You who believe! If any of you renounce your religion, Allah[God] will bring forward a people who He loves and who love Him, humble to the believers fierce to the unbelievers, who strive in the Way of Allah[God] and do not fear the blame of any censurer. That is the unbounded favor of Allah which He gives to whoever He wills. Allah[God] is Boundless, All-Knowing.
We see that when one is humble to God then one is granted unbounded favor, while those who do not believe in God are probably met with eternal damnation in the end.

I think that I do suffer from being prideful in my life, but I am working to being more humble. I have already noticed how my way of thinking has changed and that even in the past few years I have attributed my abilities to The Lord. Little by little I am giving more and more to God and I do not regret it. Soon I hope to never say “I [alone] can do this,” but say, “I[God and I] can do this.” Being humble isn’t just in your actions, but it is in your thought. God has given me so much in life, and without Him I would have a very cold and isolated life. The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want. God Bless you all. I love you, guys!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑